girlboss makes me wanna swipe left

my instagam feed yells at me that i have to watch this new netflix series. educated people actually, able to read irving or appreciate dalí. so after all i gave it a try and watched the first three episodes. and …

… help! pls! explanations needed.

i don’t get it at all.

do i have to like it because it is somehow about about a female entrepreneur? or about vintage clothes and because of that about sustainability in a way?

can we please separate form and content like susan sontag did? well, actually the main actress fits into current beauty standards, but that is not what i referred to. every sentence seems forced and overpowered by the wish of an aging team of writers to make everyone look young and cool. and desperate and cliche.

in the end i see IMG_0404a beautiful girl acting naive and girlbossy at the same time trying to open an ebay shop. and what makes me sad the most is the title … if it were a boy or man it would have just been ‚boss‘.

please tell me why i’m wrong or watch ‚terrace house‘ (luv) instead.

2 Comments

  1. Ich fühle mich da irgendwie angesprochen. Irving. Dalí. Hey there! Ich hatte mich auf die Serie gefreut, aber letzten Endes ist ‘Girlboss’ – wenn überhaupt – recht platte Unterhaltung, das feministische Konzept geht der Serie komplett verloren. Sophia Amoruso will sich in Szene setzen, das schafft sie auch, aber vollkommen unsympathisch, egoistisch und überheblich. Ich war schon nach der Hälfte der ersten Folge enttäuscht, aber mit etwas Distanz betrachtet ist die Serie ok. Man sollte sie aber mit Vorsicht schauen. Ungefähr so wie unter der Woche mittags/nachmittags im Fernsehprogramm zappen. Kann man machen, wenn man sich beschallen lassen will, aber bitte nicht allzu ernst nehmen. 🙂

    Gefällt 1 Person

    1. Hahaha, das stimmt. Vor allem mit deinem Lesekreis zurzeit. 😀 Dalí ist aber auch eine sehr gute Wahl.
      Die vermehrte Empfehlung von allen Seiten hat mich wirklich stark verwundert und ich fühlte mich schon, als wäre mir ein ästhetischer Sinn oder anderweitiges Verständnis abhanden gekommen. Danke für deine Antwort!

      Gefällt mir

Kommentar verfassen

